Random post: Academic news

Again, apologies for the lack of updates but have been busy with my master’s thesis & moving house for the 3rd time in less than 6 months.

Any-hoo, news is that I’m a good way through my Masters thesis. Which focuses on Soft Power (diplomacy through Pop Culture) and how Miyazaki Hayao subverts it with his films (mainly Spirited Away & Porco Rosso).

To add to this, my supervisor approached me on Tuesday asking if I want to start writing academic articles for peer review.

My response:

tamayayI need to do this to get better marks on my current thesis & so I get better standing on my PhD applications (allowing for scholarships & the like).

Also means that I’ll get better standing in the academic community with peer reviewed publications. That means offers to go to conferences & work with other leaders in the field.

Speaking of conferences: it looks as though I’ll be giving a presentation on distopian anime at the Unnatural Futures conference in July. This also boosts my standing, so have to work well on it.

My next review shall be posted hopefully next week, looking at Miyazaki’s (possibly) final film The Wind Rises.

Will have more stuff posted when I get around to it.

 

 

Opinions to be ignored go here:

