The 1st Anniversary – Article: A Year of And The Geek Shall

After 12 month, 80 or so articles, 256 comments & over 20,000 views, it is time to summarise the 1st year of the existence of And The Geek Shall.

Can't hide my excitement.
Can’t hide my excitement.

I started this blog a year ago today as a distraction from a bunch of academic & real life stresses that I was going through at the time as well as a way to get out all of the pent up ideas & rants that were bubbling away inside of me.

I began it with the intention of crossing it over with my academic work but that idea quickly fell by the wayside as people didn’t really understand my academic work (just like I in all honesty) & it wasn’t as interesting as just doing what I want.

Unfortunately this meant that I have let many articles fall to the side half or barely written, as I get swamped with things easily at the moment. This leaves the blog filled with weird critiques, ill-spelt rants & one post that MRA cum-stained scumbags appear to detest. Yet it does not bother me that I’ve slipped from the original goals that I set out with. Like Pokémon: most things evolve for the better.

Even so, over the past year I’ve managed to garner at least 20,000 views -which isn’t bad for such an oversaturated market. Would like to have had more comments from readers that didn’t end up being deleted because they were either too stupid or offensive to allow to exist (much like those who made the comments). Still, over the course of the last 12 months, it’s not a bad effort. Especially considering that I have spent most of my time bitching about hypersexualisation & similar topics.

Moe service is the best service to some people.
Moe service is the best service to some people.

My personal Pokémon retrospective has been the one to garner the most dedicated hits -which isn’t surprising considering how popular Pokémon is. I’ll probably end up exploiting this a bit more, mainly through seeking others to write about their experiences with the franchise. Possibly targeting new adherents to the games or those who never had a chance to play before for whatever reason.

My favourite & constant starters.
My favourite & constant starters.

So, I’d like to thank my regular readers & those casuals who float through for all the hits & those few comments left publishable. Over the next year I’m looking to add more Live Action critiques as well as general articles. Also have to finish off those half finished, such as my Firefly & Doctor Who ones.

Again: thanks for viewing & let’s work together for a better year in 2015 in terms of positive geektastic experiences.

tamayay

2 thoughts on “The 1st Anniversary – Article: A Year of And The Geek Shall

  1. Mish Singh 26/11/2014 / 11:12 PM

    Of course, if MRAs hate one of your posts, you must be doing something right.
    Congratulations on your milestone, and thanks for all the brilliant anime recommendations (e.g. Gankutsuou). I for one will keep reading & sharing your stuff … although I do think you have issues with bodily fluids… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • andthegeekshall 27/11/2014 / 12:23 AM

      Thanks for your support, Mish.
      & I aim to upset as many people as I can.

      Like

Opinions to be ignored go here:

