Gaming – My first Stream Session: Dragon Age: Inquisition & PlayStation 4 hands on

After dealing with the useless parcel delivery contractor not bothering to walk up the stairs to my front door & having to walk 4 kilometres to the post office & back, I finally got my hands on my new 1TB PlayStation 4.

I finally bit the bullet on moving up to a current “current gen” console after Target Australia had an unbeatable 25% eBay only sale last week. Meaning that a new model 1TB PS4 with the Uncharted Collection (Uncharted 1-3 remastered for the PS4 with free Uncharted 4 multiplayer beta) only cost me $412AUSD. But I’ll be trading in that game for Fallout 4 next week because I have absolutely zero interested in the Uncharted franchise.

Naturally, I expected the PlayStation 4 to have to go through the usual rigmarole of updating data & patching the games that I had already brought (Metal Gear Solid 5 & Dragon Age: Inquisition) but I was genuinely surprised at how smooth a process it all was when compared to the PlayStation 3.

The major system update took less than half an hour & the individual game updates could be done in the background as you played the games. It seems like Sony borrowed another idea from Nintendo’s playbook but it is very much a welcome one as it means that you don’t have to waste time when you’re trying to waste time.

The interface is a lot smoother for the PS4 as well, with the downloads, notifications & other info tucked up into a top bar. The entire things is a galactic level of speed over the early model PS3s, with even the troublesome PlayStation Store being easier to navigate. Which is handy because of how the PS4 is now so reliant on apps to run small programmes.

The controller also feels very much different from the PS3 movel (which was almost exactly like the PS2 model but wireless). It has a lot more heft & body to it, feeling solid in your grip -missing that breakable sensation that the PS3 controller carried with it. The new buttons & touchpad are confusing at first but work well. The lack of the traditional “start” & “select” buttons is still off putting but the sunken nature of the “options” & “share” buttons means that you’re not catching your nails on them. The touch pad feels like a gimmick but having it as a clickable button is integrated well into the two games that I played.

Overall, the latest model of the PS4 is a welcome step up from the PS3 (which I still enjoy playing) but it’s lack of backwards compatibility will become an issue if anything happens to my PS3. Still, I think with the slowly growing catalogue of exclusive titles that Sony is gathering means that I climbed aboard at the right time. I’ll wait a little before getting an XBone though.

Now, it’s the streaming feature that I’m big on & so I recorded nearly an hour of gameplay from Dragon Age: Inquisition onto Twitch before exporting it to YouTube.

Now, I do want to get more into streaming, so I’d like people to follow me on Twitch but I still need support on my Patreon in order to buy more games, upgrade my headset to one with a better mic & eventually buy a PS4 camera.

Let us know what you think of the video.

Opinions to be ignored go here:

